Tasting- Crane Lake Gewürtztraminer

Crane-Lake-Gewurtz

Name: Crane Lake Gewürtztraminer

Variety: 100% Gewürtztraminer

Region: California

Country: USA

Year: 2013

Price: $6

Shop Notes: Slightly high-toned notions of rose petal mingle with lemon on nose and palate of this lightly sweet, richly textured yet balanced Gewürztraminer. This is not as heady as you may expect and will be a treat with spicy Asian dishes. Lychee and rose petal make another very fetching appearance on the finish.

My Notes: Not only did I say last week on the blog that the last wine was always my favorite, I also told the boy from the Vintage Cellar this and I guess I double jinxed it because I was left disappointed. It was very fruity and some guesses of the fruits were grape, pear, apple, or mandarin peel. I thought it was nice but nothing too special. I liked the coolness of it though. A little spice but maybe it’s just because I was expecting it from the name.

I did not have this with food.

Leave a Reply

