Tasting- Dom Michel Thomas Sancerre Rose

Sancerre-Rose

Name: Dom Michel Thomas Sancerre Rose

Variety: 100% Pinot Noir

Region: Loire

Country: France

Year: 2013

Price: $32

Critic Notes: Bright orange-pink. Lively, mineral-tinged aromas of fresh red berries, orange peel and honeysuckle, with a hint of anise building in the glass. Dry and nervy in the mouth, offering vibrant strawberry and orange pith flavors and a suggestion of rose pastille. The floral element comes back on the finish, which lingers with very good spicy persistence. -Stephen Tanzer, 90 points

My Notes: I thought this wine had a very good nose which was really opened up after some swirling. The nose had orange and berry aspects to it and I didn’t think it was obnoxious. This being said, I was disappointed by the taste which was a lot drier and acidic than I expected and not enough of the fruit tones came out in my opinion.

I did not have this with food.

Leave a Reply

