Dinner-Homemade

IMG_0310
Here is a picture to prove I have friends…

 

FullSizeRender
…and here’s a solo picture of me since I’m obviously the most important one.

Honestly  this dinner started out as a way to get points but turned into a goodbye dinner for our friend, Mark (left), since he’s older than us and, sadly, graduating. Karen (second from right) admittedly did most of the cooking since the majority of us still live in the dorms. Here is what we came up with:

IMG_0309
We had bread and butter (don’t know why we had it, it was kind of a last-minute addition but it was so good), shrimp, rice pilaf, broccoli, pot roast beef, and vegetable medley consisting of onions, carrots, and potatoes. 
IMG_0350
We also had cinnamon buns because why not.

These were the wines I chose based on my expertise:

IMG_0302
I thought a Pinot Grigio would go well with the shrimp because the shrimp was kind of buttery and heavy/rich and this wine would add some brightness to the dish as well as lighten it.

The first thing I did was have the shrimp with the Beringer. I think Beringer is nice in general but it’s usually not my favorite but I thought this Pinot Grigio was a lot nicer that the rest of the Beringers I’ve had. By itself, it had a super awesome, open and sweet nose consisting of grape, citrus, and candied pineapple (I can’t believe I just wrote candied pineapple but I think I finally got what the experts mean by this). The taste was high in citrus yet really sweet as well as light and bright. I think it interacted with the shrimp really well. As mentioned before, the shrimp was pretty buttery and I was sort of dreading it because I hadn’t really had any bad foods in a while and I get heartburn super easily. I don’t know if the wine made me feel better afterwards but it definitely took some of the buttery, heavy taste off and made the shrimp very enjoyable. I didn’t really notice a change in the wine due to the shrimp. I also had some of the rice pilaf and broccoli at this point and noticed that the broccoli made the taste of the wine a little less enjoyable and sort of took out some of the fruitiness.

IMG_0300
I thought a Cab was a given for the beef/vegetable deal because I though the tannins would be a good contrast to the fatty red meat.

Alone, this wine smelled of asparagus and had some earthy/dirt qualities to the nose. As predicted, this wine has high in tannins and acid and very dry (even though some disagreed). It redeemed itself with some berry tones. I actually don’t like beef and I didn’t like this red but I definitely like beef less so I guess that it was good that this wine overpowered the beef so much. I didn’t feel in interact with the vegetables as much. If you’re wondering how I picked this Cab out of all of them, the label was cool and Chalkboard had wines from all over the world which was super cool. It was a good red, I just don’t like reds that much.

IMG_0299
I chose this table wine because it was local-ish and, since the other red was pretty dry, I wondered how something a little less dry would interact with the flavors of the beef.

This was an interesting wine. The nose was dry (I can’t tell you how I got this from a nose but it happened), earthy with some berry and maple (I was on a roll) tones. The body was sweet and also had berry tones, specifically cherry maybe. I also tried this with the beef because the back (pictured below) said the wine pairs well with roasted meats and I wasn’t about to ignore that advice. I picked the wine because my friend told me that dog actually lives on the vineyard and I wasn’t about to ignore a cute dog. Anyway. I liked this a little more because it was a little less dry but I thought the other red paired better with the beef and vegetables.

IMG_0317.JPG
Address of the cute dog. Also pairing suggestions.
IMG_0313
BONUS: We had two reds because pretty much everyone liked red over white and I guess I came off a little sour about it because my friend was like “well, do you want to open up a sweet Riesling?” The answer was hell yeah.

I had this wine after I was full but it was interesting enough by itself. The nose had hints of coconut and was soft and sweet. The palate was medium sweet and tasted like orange peel (like I said, on a roll). The taste was also edamame-ish and very thick and syrupy. Nice flavors, not crazy about the consistency and thickness of it.

IMG_0311
Here is a dark picture of me and my friends.

More info on the wines:

Beringer Pinot Grigio

  • Region: California

    Country: USA

    Year: 2013

    Price: ~$10

Chalkboard Cabernet Sauvignon

  • Region: California

    Country: USA

    Year: 2014

    Price: ~$9

Chateau Morrisette The Black Dog (Table Wine)

  • Varietal: Chambourcin, Cabernet, Merlot

    Region: Virginia

    Country: USA

    Year: non-vintage

    Price: ~$9

 

 

Leave a Reply

